Mummy Fashion

Christmas Do? Going out, out?

So, the Mr comes home and drops the bomb that his Christmas do is THIS weekend, and you want to go. You also want to treat yourself to something new but Toys R Us and alike have robbed you blind these coming weeks getting everything ready for Santa to go and take all the glory!

 

Allow me misses, I've only gone and had a cheeky browse on your behalf ….. I know, I love you too.

 

So. If like me you don't go out out often, the thought of spending £80 + on a albeit beautiful dress you'll probably wear again … urrrrm never. Isn't money well spent.

 

 

How about working a few basics, dress them up, feel comfortable but look Uh.Maze.Ing. It's all in the accessories and working with what you already have teaming them up with a new purchase to see you through more than just 1 night out.

 

 

But, really want a dress?…

 

 
This Topshop number is a flattering cut for all shapes and sizes, there is limited stock left in the navy but they also had it in a blush… Luuuurvly with plum heels….green and also a cream. A bit of a one trick pony but at £20 it's not the end of the world if it sits in the wardrobe for a while. In a classic shape VERY similar to the LK Bennett Marina dress at £225 a pop. A pretty good option I'd say.
 
Dresses not your bag?
 
I get that, I'm a size bigger on the bottom than I am on the top and fitted dresses fill me with spanx dread.
 
Alas, all hail the skirt of the season, the midi length is ridiculously flattering, exposing that section of the calf and ankle that in heels looks classy and sexy at the same time, not an easy task.
 
 
 
ASOS have a fantastic range, to fit all budgets. These are 2 of my favourites. I'd wear them with a blouse, and a statement necklace, or keep it simple with a stunning loose cami, chunky cardie and delicate jewellery.
 
Would also look gorgeous with a loose t shirt, from American Apparel alternatively browse in Zara and H&M for reasonably priced basics in a huge range of colours. Think understated sexy, look at your shoes, bags you already have and work with those to bring shades and together, mix it up and see what works.
 
Accessorize have some lovely statement necklaces and collars, priced from the £20 mark. These also will look great to glam up a pair of jeans and a jumper for lunch with the girls.
 
 
 
Either of these skirts would look stunning during the day with chunky knits, blouses under sweaters and brogues or cute knee high boots.
 
Think of what you already have and if it could fit in with your everyday style, especially if you're going for the pricier leather options.
 
For the more body confident among you, try this little number using similar ideas to team it up. Think tight skirt loose top and vice versa. Less is more.
 
 
 
Me?
 
I'm going all out on a jumpsuit. My go to destination Zara had a beautiful low cut number, but it wasn't in stock when I came to order *sobs* so I'm thinking this will do just nicely, I ordered a size bigger and am glad I did as it's quite 'snug' round the bum and fitting looser around the top makes it drape nicely. With some chunky accessories, tuck in the tie waist or hidden behind a leopard print belt and teamed with my silver heels and red lips I'll be bopping away on my festive girls night on Saturday feeling comfortable and looking fab.
 
Then, with a jumper underneath (as worn here) or over the top, my trusty bikers or hi tops during the day, I'd say that's £25.99 well spent.
 
It's SO comfy, and has a lovely marble in the material, I'm hoping this will see my through to spring summer and look fab with flip flops.
 
Hope I've given you a few ideas and some inspiration. Tweet me your choices for the festive season I'd love to see what you're going for.
 
Happy shopping you lovely lot!
 
 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

