Interiors

Let There Be Light

Having made the looooong decision of spotlights or hanging lights in the newly extended lounge, We decided upon spotlights.

 

This meant I could invest in a couple of beautiful lamps. 1 floor lamp and a couple of table lamps I'm yet to find a floor lamp that A) I love enough to buy and B) that Mr G will let me buy. I'm having a love affair with some stunning pieces of lighting from US based Antiques and Oddities website called Factory 20.

 

This one has been snapped up, by some lucky tinker, it's a beaut!

 

 

 

Alas,

 

 

Amidst my floor lamp torment I stumbled across a lovely table lamp from a gorgeous little shop in Hitchin called The Yard.

 

 

 
I love this lamp, currently searching for a chest, or piece of furniture to replace the small oak table it sits on, I think it will come into its own when sitting on something a little more industrial. Really show the detail in the wood at its best.
 
 
I love it's raw edges, the cable, it's unapologetic sharp lines. It's very simple.
 
 
 

 

 

Tucked away behind the church in Hitchin. The Yard is easy to find a very short walk from the market car park.

 

 

(Image taken from The Yard Facebook Page)

 

 

The Yard is a little shop I've been frequenting for a long time to find beautiful little gifts, and bits for the home it's a little treasure trove of delights. Stocking Nkuku, Scandinavian brand Bloomingville and treats from Compagnie De Provence among many others from stunning notebooks and wallets, to clocks, cushions, light fittings crockery and shelving units its absolutely worth a trip, pop in to get inspiration of how to work pieces together…. I bet you cant leave without clutching a green carrier though….

 

 

If you follow me on Instagram you'd have seen many accessories around the house courtesy of The Yard pop up here and there, I'm a big fan and have dragged a few friends along on my jaunts… Who now have pieces from The Yard creeping into their homes.

 

 

On a gorgeous sunny day such as we're having, why not make a trip of it pop in to Halsey's Deli a few yards away and grab yourself a gorgeous bite to eat and let the kiddies feed the ducks outside the church to finish off your shopping trip.

 

 

Not hugely present on Twitter you can search and 'like' The Yard Hitchin on Facebook to browse lovely pictures of new items and updates on sales. It was through a teaser on Facebook I found this lamp, I'd seen it before but somehow the picture of it I saw it in a different light. A phone call later to check dimensions and it was out aside for me to collect. Now that's fantastic customer service. They're also soon to introduce an interior design service, so if you need direction on the look you want to achieve in your home their advice may be just what you need to get started.

 

 

On another note …. Any ideas how to convince Mr G that this beaut from Graham & Green would make our hallway?

 

 

 

I'll keep you posted with that one!

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

