Mummy Fashion

There’s nothing wrong in not wanting to be a ‘mumsy’

Thursday morning something awful happened, I mean something I vowed would never happen to me….

I took lil man to pre school bare faced in my 'joggers' and then …. I tucked them into my uggs!!…I know, I know, how did I ever let it come to this?!? The truth is, I've no idea. I got home caught reflection of myself and thought ” **insert expletive of your choosing** n' Nora! This is not good”.

Now, don't get me wrong, I hardly totter down into the village, Heidi Klum style fully made up in my louboutins …if I still had the ability to walk in them, or looked like her, perhaps I would for the hell of it…but I don't, anyhoo I digress.

If I'd got home and thought, “crikey you look rough” but felt like I genuinely wasn't bothered then I wouldn't even fuss to write about it, but I didn't I felt, really quite poop, no confidence and frankly embarrassed and that's just not nice.

This was a feeling I'd had before, similarly I felt a bit 'lost' after having my son, in a rut. I read a piece in my much loved Red Magazine & emailed them to acknowledge the article that gave me a new lease of life and a kick up the bum.

I'd made a public promise to myself ….they'd printed it, so I had to stick to it, and yet a year later …A YEAR … and I've done nothing about it, the piece is folded up rammed into a corner of my purse stuffed between coupons and shopping lists.

That said, I havn't been a total no hope case this last year, I still know what I like, chunky knits, cardies, clean lines, not a great deal of fuss, if I could i'd have a wardrobe full of Chinti & Parker….Santa if your'e reading I'm a size 12,ta …. I went through a short lived 'head to toe Boden & Joules' phase, because I'm a mum now, isn't that 'what we do' bombarded by catalogues showing mumsy's running carefree in long grass….an image of mummy bliss. I felt out of place and 'not cool enough anymore' to be browsing in the likes of my old haunts. So am sort of stuck in the middle.

I've gone to buy things, and then talked myself out if it, I'll lose more weight first, where will I wear it, it's not practical while I'm feeding… Blah, blah, blah

But then the other day I got these …. All hail Zara

I'm smitten, they symbolise that little ol' me waving from a distance reminding the me I've become. That just because I'm a mum now, I shouldn't feel guilty for missing her a little bit.

So here goes, I'm a year late but ho hum….should you see me out in fore mentioned ensemble, with porridge on my top and a baby wipe stuffed in my back pocket then permission granted to slap my wrist!

I'm excited, looking forward to writing a few posts on some practical yet beautiful and suitable for a Mummy finds …not to be confused with 'mumsy'.

Standard

2 thoughts on “There’s nothing wrong in not wanting to be a ‘mumsy’

  1. Pingback: change clothes « bretonteacups

  2. Pingback: And the penny drops … | Cardies & Crumbs

Leave a Reply

