Little Crumbs

Little Seeds

A few weeks ago my good friend Jo was telling me about her daughters outfit for our lil mans superhero birthday party.

“Ooh” she says “we got these cool tights from this new shop in Hitchin” “You'd really like it”

… she goes on to describe said tights “little titans?” I ask, “yep”

“Take me there”. Any shop that stocks Little Titans is a shop I need to frequent.

And so a few days later off I went, after a coffee in Halsey's, a quick spend up in What Sarah Did, we wondered round the corner to Hermitage Road, Hitchin and there was Little Seeds.

A large spacious shop, minimal decor with beautifully merchandised stock ranging from cute Mini Melissa Shoes, to the instantly recognisable prints of Mini Rodini, Fine Little Day and with Luckyboysunday to boot! I was so excited I could barely string a sentence together!

I made a few purchases and had a quick chat with Coral, the brainchild behind Little Seeds. She kindly agreed to feature on here to talk about this new shop that she's recently opened in Hitchin.

 

So, Coral it's been a manic couple of months for you with twins in tow too! I'm sure getting Little Seeds to fruition has been hard work, is it a venture that grew organically for you or has this always been a dream of yours?

 

It's always been a dream of mine to either be in the kids fashion industry or just have a shop and sell what I'm passionate about. I did my gcse's and a levels early and my biggest regret in life was turning down my Westminster fashion place, but at the same time I was only 16 and now at 23 I've achieved what I wanted to do!

It was also the help of being on complete bedrest when I was pregnant with the twins, i used this time to do all my research, saving, write business plans and attend trade shows such as playtime Paris, top drawer, bubble and design junction.

Design runs in our family with my husband having his business and my dad and brothers jobs and my mum being a top make up artist so I know a lot of background information on how to merchandise things, design and plan things in a way that is attractive and unique. But also having the twins and being a young mum living 2 hours away from my parents made me try and test things for myself and figure out what the girls needed on my own, and so the shop was formed.

 

… And what shopping experience can Little Seeds customers look forward to?

 

I just want it to have a nice friendly atmosphere, I like kids coming in touching everything and playing on the bikes and just having a family friendly feel to it. I hate going into stores myself and having to watch the girls like hawks incase they drop something or move a toy. I didn't want people to feel like that in my shop I want it to be a pleasant and stress free experience.

 

I'm a big fan of the brands you stock, many of which I was introduced to through Instagram Scandinavian inspired design especially, but have ordered online, …. living up in these here 'shire' parts you don't see many shops like yours stocking concept childrenswear… It's exciting to have somewhere local flying the flag for stylish toddlers!

Do you think social media has changed the way parents are buying for their little ones?

 

Definitely! If someone posts something on Instagram or Twitter quirky and different which isn't from Next, H&M or Mothercare then everyone wants it! And I think everything is made so much better! It's kids clothing that makes children look like children and not mini adults. Plus I think now parents like to spend money on their children's style over pampering themselves.

 

You have a lovely mix of vintage inspired toys namely the fisher price record player I have my beady eye on … Evokes childhood memories … to the sleek and innovative Spherovelo ride on, What are your top toy picks for Christmas this year?

 

Definitely the ride on toys and the fisher price records! They just sell out so quickly and I think they're at good prices too.

I just wish I could keep on top of demands quicker, but that will come it's all a learning curve and figuring out what your customers want. Hopefully I'm at that stage now.

 

Not to wish the year away just yet but …What brands are you tipping as 'the next big thing' for kiddies in 2014?

 

Well I'm keeping quite a few under my belt but in January once the other rooms are finished they'll be lots more mini rodini and mini Melissa, nununu, popup shop, indikidual, ferm living, kids on roof, villa carton, bugaboo and I'm lucky enough to be one of the stores to stock the limited edition hoods, cloth nappies (tots bots), Joolz, phil and teds, talking threads, Zuzii. Lots more I can't wait! Basically loads of clothes, shoes, quirky toys, bits for older children and practical things too. I'd love to be a one stop shop like mothercare but a whole lot better and different.

 

Sounds amazing!! I can't wait, Thankyou so much Coral for taking the time to share an insight into Little Seeds, wishing you every success with your new venture. I'm excited to see what you have planned for your shop.

 

It's so lovely to have Little Seeds local, sometimes you want to be able to see clothes and products up close, to appreciate the quality and work that goes into them. Or go somewhere for inspiration.

 

I've selected a few of my Little Seeds favourites that could be making it under our Christmas tree this year.

 

1. Spherovelo Ride On £69.00 … Grows with your little one, it's super cool!

2. Vilac Metal Ride On Car £89.99 …the roadster is amazing for any budding petrol heads!

3. Crazy Stuff Toucan Helmet £28.00 … A must have for any new bikes and scooters..the range is all kinds of awesome!

4. Amazing Build A Bot £5.99 …a perfect gift or stocking filler

5. Fisher Price Camera £19.99

6. Fisher Price Record Player £29.99 … This Fisher Price range will be under everyone's tree if Instagram is anything to go by, grab yours quick!

7. Anorak Games Magazine £6.00 … We love Anorak Magazines in this house, one will definitely be in little mans stocking, something to sit down with for some quiet time.

8. I love giving Books as gifts, Christmas and birthdays. Little Seeds have a fab range if you're looking for something beautifully illustrated, on a book shelf in the play room they're dual purpose, looking great as well as the children enjoying them.

  • Our Planet £9.99
  • The Day the Crayons Quit £12.99
  • The New Jumper £6.99

9. Fine Little Day Tomato Print was £32.00 NOW £20.00 …there's currently a promotion on all Fine Little Day prints, a great addition to any nursery, bedroom or playroom.

 

Follow Coral on Twitter and Instagram @littleseeds25 for updates,

 

Check out the website, postage is very reasonable, or if you're in the Hitchin Area do pop in!

 

Happy Shopping you lovely lot!

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Little Seeds

Leave a Reply

